Simple Pleasures: Cookie Dough

I love my husband.  No, no, you see, I rrrreeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaly love my husband.  Enough to make that man a whole lotta cupcakes.  Almost eighty, in fact.

And, not just any cupcakes, mind you.

Two batches of these cupcakes (but one and a half batches were with super delish peanut butter frosting instead of the toasted marshmallow), and one batch of this recipe in cupcake form with cream cheese frosting.

This hotel room / dorm fridge is what we use every day for our four-person family. We eat through more leftovers than you want to know to clear out two shelves in the name of peanut butter love.

And…

I cleaned up my mess.  Every last utensil, dish, pot and pan in my microscopic kitchen.  Now, that’s real love.

I am a mess maker, not a mess cleaner-upper. Only a good man's birthday would make me wash and dry this all by hand.

And, speaking of love, I’ve always had a thing for cookie dough.  The problem is, I won’t eat it.  Not the homemade kind, anyway.  You see, I have a thing about raw eggs.  After seeing someone firsthand suffer a bout of salmonella and having food poisoning once myself from Caesar salad dressing made with raw eggs, I just can’t bring myself to eat it.

(I know the toasted marshmallow frosting has raw egg whites in it.  I did research on the temperature at which salmonella dies a quick and painful death.  And I also broiled the junk out of the topped cupcakes so that the frosting was practically a baked meringue.  Just in case you’re wondering…)

But, thanks to these cupcakes, I now have a container of cookie dough bites in my freezer.  Sans eggs.  Whip up a batch, and show your dude (or dudette) how much you heart them.

Container 1 of 2 of the finished product.

(Unfortunately, I did not take any “how to” pictures.  But, as this recipe is shamelessly ripped off from Joy, you can visit her blog for pictures.)

Cookie Dough Bites

1 stick (1/2 cup or 4 ounces) unsalted butter at room temperature

1 cup plus 2 Tablespoons all purpose flour

1/2 teaspoon baking soda (i know we’re not baking them, it’s for flavor)

3/4 teaspoons salt

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/3 cup granulated sugar

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

2-3 tablespoons natural peanut butter (if you have a nut allergy, 2 tablespoons of yogurt will work as a binder as well)

1 cup semi sweet chocolate chips (I used mini chips I lugged back from the US)

 

In the bowl of a stand mixer fit with a paddle attachment (or with a large bowl and hand mixer if you just ogle stand mixers in kitchen stores but do not personally own one yourself), cream butter and sugars until light and fluffy, about three minutes in the machine.  Beat in peanut butter (or yogurt if using) along with the vanilla extract and stir to combine.

Whisk together the flour, baking soda and salt.  Add all at once to the butter and sugar mixture and stir until incorporated.  Fold in chocolate chips.

Spoon a scant tablespoons size amount of dough in your hand.  Roll into a ball and place on a cookie sheet.  Make 24 little cookie dough balls.  Refrigerate or freeze.  These little pups taste better cold.

4 thoughts on “Simple Pleasures: Cookie Dough

  1. Pingback: Miracle: New Fridge! « Thrifty Travel Mama

  2. Pingback: gourmet cupcake recipes

  3. Pingback: Simple Pleasures: Peanut Butter « Thrifty Travel Mama

  4. Pingback: 13 Practical Gifts for Traveling Families | Thrifty Travel Mama

We want to hear from you! Share your thoughts here.

