Kaffee und Kuchen

This is a German thing I am all about!  It’s like British tea, only better.  Coffee and cake every afternoon!  Sign me up.  Oh wait, I live in Germany so I think that means I already am signed up.

I had cake at a friend’s house (I made a friend!) on Wednesday.  This friend has two boys like mine only a little closer in age, 3 and 18m.  And she made a cake.  From scratch.  In her itty bitty German kitchen.  I was totally impressed.

I bought some lemons at Aldi to make lemon chicken, a family favorite.  I only wanted one but Aldi plays by their own rules.  So I got a little recyclable baggie of them.  I also bought eggs and one came with a free feather (woohoo free stuff!).  The feather grossed out Doc Sci, and he begged me to make something with it.

Ingredients - check out the free egg feather!

So I did.  At 9pm.  After I huffed and puffed my way home from the big grocery store on a bike.  Doc Sci usually talks me out of such crazy and messy plans.  But he was out looking at a flat.  Shhhhh don’t tell him I made a HUGE mess all over the kitchen.  Sugar, lemon juice, egg guts, you get the picture.

I have only made a few cakes from scratch, none edible.  I’m not a fancy baker lady, I am grossed out by fat, and mixes are usually free or pennies.  Why fight the system?  Well, in Germany, there is no system.  There’s also a lack of electric mixers in my flat.  I found a recipe for one-bowl lemon cake and whipped it up.  Adding the lemon juice right after the baking powder… um they did not say anything about order of ingredients in the recipe!

Two cake pans in the oven

The two cake pans (from the US) were all up in each other’s business in the tiny oven.  I could’ve used one but I made a big enough mess already – I did not want to clean the oven too.  I smooshed the two layers together and made a quick glaze.  No itty bitty whisk so my glaze was lumpy.

The finished product - I ate 1/4 of it at 1030pm. Good thing I walk everywhere!

Verdict: Lusciously lemony cake goodness.

RECIPE:

125g butter

2t lemon rind

1c sugar

3 eggs

1/2 c milk

1 1/2 c self-rising flour

1/4c lemon juice

Mix all ingredients together in one bowl.  Pour into greased cake pan.  Bake at 180C for 30 mins.

2 thoughts on “Kaffee und Kuchen

  1. I love German tea and coffee time, and their desserts. My favorite is Apfelkuchen and Pflaumenkuchen that we bought at the Benedikter supermarkt’s bakery section when we visited Germany. If you find a good recipe for any of those you have to share with me.

We want to hear from you! Share your thoughts here.

