Call For Recipes: Salsa

We’re having some major chips-n-salsa withdrawl here.  I have actually seen salsa in one store, but it looked like Pace.  I’m probably offending some people here, but Pace is not salsa.  It’s picante sauce.  And, picante sauce is… well, folks, I’m not even sure.  I just know it is not salsa!

I have never made homemade salsa before mostly because tomatoes have a high ick factor for me.  I’ve probably only bought a tomato (not even multiples) a handful of times in my entire life.  We’re not crazy about cilantro and raw onions have their place as long as they are an accent not the hogger of all flavor.  We love black beans (though they are expensive and hard to come by here), corn, peppers, etc.  I’m not sure of the availability of ingredients like tomatillos and such, but I will look!

So help us get our Mexican fix.  Leave a comment with a link to your favorite salsa recipe or just type it in the comment box.  We’ll pick a recipe (or two or three) and make it, complete with pictures.  I might even throw in a picture of T-Rex and his ahhhhh-this-is-too-spiceeee face.  We’d love some nachos right about now but with cheddar cheese being on par with the price of gold, we’ll just stick with the basics.

Bring on the recipes!

2 thoughts on “Call For Recipes: Salsa

  1. Chamisa,
    I am no salsa expert, but I have tried to make it from scratch here in Korea, I thought it turned out o.k.

    6 roma tomatoes, chopped
    4 garlic cloves, minced
    2 seeded and minced jalapenos, plus 2 roasted, skinned and chopped jalapenos
    1 red bell pepper, fine dice
    1/2 red onion, fine chopped
    2 dry ancho chiles, seeded, cut into short strips and snipped into pieces
    1 tablespoon olive oil
    1 lime juiced
    chili powder, salt and pepper, to taste
    fresh scallions, cilantro or parsley to taste

    In a bowl, combine all ingredients. Place in refrigerator for up to 12 hours for flavor infusion.

We want to hear from you! Share your thoughts here.

