Free Toothpaste

Theoretically, if you live in the US and play your coupons right, you should never have to pay for toothpaste again, compliments of CVS, Walgreens, and sometimes even your neighborhood grocery store.  In fact, you probably will have more toothpaste than you know what to do with.  Seriously.

Kräuter.. makes me think of garlic. Good thing it's not!

I brought some of this free toothpaste with me to Germany and ended up a little irritated when it was all gone.  Now that I’m accustomed to not paying for it, I don’t want to make room in my budget for it.

(Okay, maybe I just really don’t want to have to figure out which brand is the best and figure out what “fluoride”, “cavity”, and “extra delicious bubblegum mint” are in German.)

If you don’t think God has a sense of humor, think again.  Just after the new year, I received some coupons in the mail from dm, the CVS of Germany.  How I got on this mailing list, I don’t know but hallelujah I am lovin’ it!

Well, wouldn’t ya know, the first coupon in this book was for none other than a free tube of toothpaste!  The others were for things like 5% off your purchase, 10 extra payback points (another reward system here – I’ll have to do a post on that later), and a whopping 40 cents off Nivea shampoo.

T-Rex always has to add his own touch to things.

I was least impressed with the latter.  That is, until I went to redeem the free toothpaste coupon and saw this…

dm.. you're so generous.

So the joke’s on me.

Or maybe it’s not.  I still got a free (decent tasting) tube.  Hooray for free stuff in Europe!

What did you get free this week??

5 thoughts on “Free Toothpaste

  1. This week guests brought me a cookie, a latte, german chocolate cake, 30 free beers, locals card and a 135 bottle of wine. I guess thats what talking A LOT gets you!

  2. I got a free round of antibiotics this week from the pediatrician!!! But more importantly – Congrats! I feel you have completed your transformation into a European now that you buy and EAT room temperature eggs!!! 🙂 I have been waiting for this! And is that toothpaste really called “DONT o dent?”

    • Free antibiotics! That would be nice. Well, nice that they’re free; not nice that you have to use them. They only cost 5 euro here for adults (everything medical for kids is almost always free) but it adds up when you’re on your 26th box!
      Yes, I really need to market myself as an English language product consultant. Not that Germans care what English speakers think of their product/business names, but still. Maybe someone would hire me!

  3. Pingback: German Grocery Games: Coupons & Sales | Thrifty Travel Mama

We want to hear from you! Share your thoughts here.

