Simple Pleasures: Chips & Salsa

Just in case you had any inclinations to be impressed with me in any way for any reason (laughable, I know), I thought I should let you in on a little secret.  God sees fit to humble me (quite regularly at times) by allowing me to do something utterly and completely stupid.  Oh yes, and dangerous.  I have a knack for stupid, dangerous things.

Very proud of myself for multi-tasking while little boys slumbered a gorgeous afternoon away, I turned the beans on high to bring to a boil while I sat down in the living room for a German lesson.  You see where this is going, don’t you?

Well, what you don’t know is that we have doors on our living room and our kitchen.  Not wanting to wake the boys with my repetitions of “Der Mann rennt!  Die Frau schwimmt!  Die Jungen isst!  Die Mädchen trinkt!”, I shut the doors.  I finished several lessons and thought I’d better carb up for the afternoon’s bike ride.

But alas, I got stuck lollygagging around slickdeals.net (a bad, bad, bad idea for a thrifty mama).  I was totally annoyed at the beeping going on “somewhere out there.”  Construction noise can be so annoying.  Smoke alarms can be too.  Smoke alarms!

A full five minutes later, my hearing had suffered permanent damage, and I smelled like I pulled a s’mores & weenies all-nighter Girl Scout-style.  Actually, I’ve never been a Girl Scout.  But no matter.

My boys slept through it all.  They totally rock.  Rock.  Ya know, like the hard, totally charred dinner sitting on my stove.

Doc Sci cleaned this up for me. Yep, he's a keeper. Even if he does forget to change my camera settings back after he uses it.

I  will never be The Pioneer Woman.  (no need to list the myriad of reasons OTHER than my stupidity skills in the kitchen)

With dinner definitely in the can, I had to redeem myself somehow.  I bought some kind of mystery can of “black beans with chili sauce” (utterly gross – sugar in black beans?!?) and made salsa.

Ahhhh, salsa.

This recipe is SO good.  And SO easy.  You will SO thank me for sharing it with you.  You SO have to make it.  I am SO making myself sound dumber-er and dumber-er right now.

Jarred jalapenos can be found at the Turkish market. Jalapenos from Istanbul. Huh.

How’s this for simple?  Throw all ingredients in your food processor.  Pulse.  Pour into a bowl.  Devour with chips.  That’s it.

Check out my food processor - motor on top. That's how we roll.

(This is my version of the recipes listed here.)

1 28 oz. can diced tomatoes (open can and empty out as much water/juice as possible)
4 Tbs bottled hot jalapenos
1 Tbs pickle juice from jalapeno jar
1 tsp garlic powder
1/2 tsp Kosher salt
1/4 tsp ground black pepper

1/4 cup onion, finely minced

If you’re a salsa freak, you’ll notice cilantro is missing.  We aren’t big fans of it.  BUT I think a little is needed.  Next time, I will add just a bit to balance the flavors and add little specks of green color.  This totally tastes straight out of a restaurant.  Scrumptious!

p.s. - you could also, ahem, simply spread a layer of chips on a baking sheet, spread a truckload of cheddar cheese, melt in the oven, and then smother with salsa. Sharing with anyone but me: not required.

3 thoughts on “Simple Pleasures: Chips & Salsa

  1. Pingback: Make Ahead Meals for Small Freezers « Thrifty Travel Mama

  2. Pingback: Make Ahead Meals for Small Freezers – The Update! « Thrifty Travel Mama

  3. Pingback: Make It Yourself: Homemade Wheat Thins | Thrifty Travel Mama

We want to hear from you! Share your thoughts here.

