The Way of the Wild Heart

I might know a little something about saving money.  I may even hold a scrap or two of travel smarts.  But I will be the first to tell you I know zip, zero, zilch about raising boys.

As such, I’ve recently began reading again.  In the years before reading became mountainous, monotonous, and mandatory, I could tear up a book in a day.  Though the joy is still there, the time is severely lacking.  But I’m making the time for important books that give me a glimpse into the weird world of boys.

One of the books that seemed worth its weight in our move to Germany was John Eldredge’s book, The Way of the Wild Heart.  I’ve read his other, more famous one, but for some reason I am enjoying this book so much more.  I’m three-quarters of the way through, and I’ve found something to learn from every chapter.

Though Eldredge writes man to man, he totally makes me want to climb mountains, swim in mountain lakes, camp under the stars, and grow a beard.  Okay, maybe not that last one, but you get the idea.

Fortunately, the culture here in my corner of Germany is very outdoorsy.  Sundays are spent outside walking, hiking, biking, skiing, etc., unless the weather is utterly atrocious.  Sometimes we join in, sometimes we just want to take a really, really long afternoon nap.

But yesterday, due to a special Sunday at church that would have not been tolerated well by squirmy little wormies, we decided to take the Sunday off and go with our little men to the woods.

To get to the woods, you cross the train tracks. Pedestrian traffic is such the norm here that the crossings have pedestrian gates as well as car gates.

After lunch (because what boys can do anything without FOOD?), T-Rex found some sticks and (after a bit of coaxing from the 'rents) shared with Screech.

Doc Sci and T-Rex then invented some kind of soccer-golf-cricket hybrid game. I think it should just be called Whack It 'Til You Make It.

Not wanting to be left out, Screech stepped up. This kid could care less about talking but he can kick and throw a ball as well as his big bro.

I then found out how much of a tree hugger my husband really is. To think he hid that all this time...

I thought the boys might go for a sword fight, an epic duel in the woods. Nope. They just stared at each other. We'll chalk it up to brotherly love and call it a day. There'll be many fights down the road, of that I am sure.

My biggest adventure of the day was allowing T-Rex to take some pictures with my camera. Here's his portrait of Little Bro. Not bad, my man, not bad at all.

We want to hear from you! Share your thoughts here.

