Doce de Mayo

Doce de Mayo.. it’s like Cinco de Mayo except fashionably late.

I figure it doesn’t really matter since we’re not actually Mexican or Mexican-American or American-Mexican or any sort of thing like that.  And, the Germans we invited hadn’t really ever heard of it and just happened to already have plans on the actual 5th of May.

And, really, even though I am a certified gringo, I can just have my chips ‘n salsa whenever I please.  As in, whenever Doc Sci says, will you make chips and salsa please.

If you’re (slightly) obsessed with refried beans (like me) and would like to have your own 25th of May, June, December, or whenever celebration, I’m sharing my menu with you below.

¡Que aproveche!

(or Guten Appetit if you just happen to have found yourself stranded in Deutschland)

First Course: Salad

Mixed greens, chopped bell peppers, corn, sunflower seeds, and crushed tortilla chips

Dressing: Chipotle Honey Vinaigrette (yes, as in that Chipotle)

Homemade Salsa

Second Course: Stuff Your Face

Seven Bajillion Layer Taco Dip & Chips

Layers (in order): refried beans, sour cream, salsa, black beans, cheese (bake at 375F for 20 mins), then add a chopped avocado tossed with the juice of one lime, sliced green onions, chopped bell pepper, and sliced black olives

Fajita Nachos

Cook chicken, bell peppers, and onions with fajita seasoning on the stove or the lazy Mama’s way (in the crockpot).  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper, layer with tortilla chips, smear with fajita fixin’s, and cover with cheddar cheese.  Broil for a few minutes until melty and crispy.

Third Course: Dessert

Tres Leches Cake

Pioneer Woman’s Recipe

I used a round springform pan instead of a 13×9, slit the cake into two layers, filled with one chopped mango + 1/4 c sweetened condensed milk, smashed the layers back together and soaked it overnight in three milky goodness.

This calorie bomb meal is only possible to consume and stay healthy with a steady stream of marathon training.  Yes, I think I have lost my marbles, and a few euros.  I’ll be running from one country to another this summer instead of flying.  Hey, I am the thrifty travel mama, after all!

3 thoughts on “Doce de Mayo

  1. Pingback: Make It Yourself: Homemade Salad Dressing, 3 Ways | Thrifty Travel Mama

We want to hear from you! Share your thoughts here.

