Learn a Language… Free?

Thrifty Travel Mama | Expat Life - Language LearningI mentioned the other day my Rosetta Stone language course expired.  Several phone calls later, I now know is that Rosetta Stone has decided not to renew their online classroom licenses with this institution (and apparently with other institutions as well).  Bummer.

Well, actually, I can think of a whole lot of other things to say besides “bummer,” but it’s before 8pm so let’s just leave it at that.

You see, I really like Rosetta Stone.  I was almost all the way through Level 2.  I’m starting to be able to carry on small, simple conversations with strangers.  In German.  Fancy that.

But, I just cannot fathom coughing up over five hundred euros for the program.  I know, I know, I have a crazy sense of what I think things should cost (uh, nothing – money is so lame).  And five hundred euros for a plane ticket is nothing to blink an eye at, but five hundred dollars to learn a language is too much.  I should take some time to think about that.  The problem is I don’t have much time time.  I need to keep learning to not lose what I already have.

Sigh.

So I pulled up trusty Google and went to work.  Know what I found?  Most libraries have language learning tools available to patrons free.  Now, that’s more like it!

In my research, I found that many reviewers liked another software program even better than Rosetta Stone.  It’s called Rocket Languages, and I believe they have eleven available.  It costs about $150 online, but I have seen specials for only $99.  Better yet, a simple search revealed my old library in Orlando, FL, has it free!

Free is nice, but is Rocket Germany any good?

I have to be honest.  I tentatively tried out Rocket German, and I didn’t like it.  Why?  It assumes you know nothing about the language.  That would be great if it were true, but now I have at least an idea of what people are saying.  I just don’t want to start all over with “hello, my name is…”

However, my library has many other language tools which I can use to supplement my learning.  Take a look here, and then search for your library’s resources.  While I can’t get my beloved Rosetta Stone back for free, I can still learn in other ways to round out my knowledge.

One thought on “Learn a Language… Free?

  1. Pingback: Update: Rosetta Stone Online « Thrifty Travel Mama

We want to hear from you! Share your thoughts here.

