Diary of a Potty Training Mama

Day 1 – Boot Camp.

Am I really doing this again?  Potty training was one of the most agonizing times during T-Rex’s toddlerhood.  And now, here I am, right in the thick of it again with Screech.

I know, I know.  You’re thinking, “Wait, isn’t he like not even two yet?  Isn’t that too early?”  Maybe.  It all depends on the child and culture and life circumstances.

Doc Sci and I decided to give it a go with T-Rex at 19 months.  To be honest, I completely expected it to fail.  I simply wanted to say that I tried when I had the chance before Screech was born.  Instead, it worked.  Brilliantly.  I won’t say it was a miracle or that he learned overnight.  But, oh heavens I was glad not to have to change (or buy diapers for) two boys.

Now we are at it again.  With our Bulgaria trip behind us and no immediate travel plans for the next month or so, it’s time.  Screech has been interested in “pee pee” for quite some time now.  So, why do I dread it?  It’s just so.. well, boring.

We do the naked $80 method: the child runs around naked for a weekend and the $80 is to get your carpets cleaned.  I actually think this is going to be way easier in Germany.  For starters, we don’t have carpet that can’t be rolled up and put away.  Also, it’s totally acceptable for children to pee almost anywhere outdoors.  Score for saving $80!

Sunday brought some really awful rainstorms.  In fact, I saw my first severe weather advisory since moving here.  Since we all had no choice but to stay inside, Doc Sci and I decided to go for it.  Off went the diaper, in went the liquids, out came the pee.  Lots and lots of pee.  Every 5-10 minutes.  I’m pretty sure it’s not in line with German green standards to be going through multiple rolls of paper towels and toilet paper in one day.

We must have hit the timing nail on the head.  By the afternoon, Screech was already starting to realize what was going on.  In fact, several times, he stopped playing, walked over to the potty, sat down, and went.  That’s HUGE.  For Day 1, I couldn’t ask for more.

The biggest annoyance for me is having to follow my son around, potty in hand, keeping an eye on you-know-what, ready at any moment to catch what’s coming.  Thank goodness my boys still take a long afternoon nap and go to bed at 730pm.  Otherwise, I might go stark raving mad.  I know this isn’t the way it’s going to be forever; but a few days of this could give even the biggest home body a case of cabin fever.

I did so much research the first time I potty trained.  This time, I haven’t even so much as consulted Google.  I feel so out of practice, but the reality is I have so little time.  I’m simply hoping that my memory, my husband’s help, and the example of the cool older brother T-Rex will all work in Screech’s favor, and we’ll have this one in the bag ASAP.

For now, things are going well.  Screech looks genuinely excited and proud when he has a success.  I love that he is satisfied simply with our smiles and high fives as reward.  And I’m thankful to encourage him in this way.  Every day, a little bit more progress.  A little bit more freedom.

Or so I hope!

One thought on “Diary of a Potty Training Mama

  1. Pingback: Ditching the ‘Poo « Thrifty Travel Mama

We want to hear from you! Share your thoughts here.

