Miracle: New Fridge!

Herr is the word for Lord, and Lieb can mean all sorts of things, but it reminds me of the word for love, Liebe. My fridge tells me to love God. How cool is that.

Oh man gracious, I am so excited about this.  I just have to tell someone!!! So I’m telling you.  We have a new fridge!

And, we didn’t pay for it.  Score!

The old one. We'll still use him for leftovers 'n stuff. And, yes, I totally do have dirty dishes in my sink. Doc Sci really should do something about that.

I’m sure you’ve heard me talk about my hotel room-sized fridge before (maybe they thought it would remind me of traveling?).  Well, the thing started freezing the food in the back, and the butter on the door was practically room temperature.

If I turned down the temperature (warmer), much of the food went bad.  Fast.  If I turned up the temperature (colder), almost everything froze.  Iced salad anyone?

Don't open too many condiments at once. Like my washing machine hoses that decorate the institutional floor?

I protested to the hausmeister (building super) that this was not normal or economical.  Appeal to the German values, right?  He tried to say that it was just because I had items too close to the back of the fridge.  Hogwash.  Then, out of the blue (no prompting from me), he decided the fridge was too small for four people.  Right on, cowboy.

Mr. Hausmeister man said he would order us a big one.  Okay.  A week went by.  Two weeks.  I thought surely we’d have the big one in time for Doc Sci’s birthday.  Four weeks.  I was dying to make iced tea (impossible in the old fridge unless I made it by the tupperware-ful).  Five weeks.  When I’d ask for an update, I usually could not understand what in the world the dude was telling me, but it didn’t sound good.

Lured by the idea of cold soda(whoa), I pulled a few strings with the student leasing office and voila!  Our new fridge arrived Tuesday.

This bad boy is AS TALL AS ME!!! Okay, that's not saying much, but whatever.

I’m STOKED.

Do you KNOW how much milk I can buy at the store now.. at one time?  I might even be able to.. grocery shop only once a week!  Living dangerously, I know.

This is like movin' up from the Motel 6 to the Ritz. The only catch? It doesn't fit in the kitchen! It's in the living room, right next to the dining table.

Okay, okay, enough with the recipes and fridge stories.  I’ll write you something travel-ish soon.  Until then, enjoy some ice in your drink.  For me.  Cheers!

3 thoughts on “Miracle: New Fridge!

  1. Pingback: You Can’t Always Get What You Want « Thrifty Travel Mama

  2. Pingback: Make Ahead Meals for Small Freezers « Thrifty Travel Mama

We want to hear from you! Share your thoughts here.

