Ditching the ‘Poo

Please don’t stop reading this before you’ve even started.

This isn’t a post about potty training.  You can find those here and here.

At first, I wasn’t going to write about it.  This blog isn’t a fashion, beauty, household, do-everything-yourself kinda place.  Okay, maybe a little bit of the last one but only out of necessity.

Wait, what am I talking about?

I recently discovered Simple Mom, a blog that I’m all about now.  The posts are frequent enough to keep my attention, infrequent enough to avoid overload.  The topics are timely and wholesome and useful.  However, one of my first posts I read took me aback.  Tsh (the author) described how she hadn’t washed her hair in over two years.  Wait, what?  Two years?

My first reaction was gross.  That is totally gross. 

Not too long after that, I opened a new bottle of Dove Shampoo and after a week of gunked up hair, I couldn’t get the post out of my head.  Ya know, like, literally.

(p.s. – I have never used Dove before.  I bought it because it had a special package offering the conditioner free with purchase of the shampoo.  Deals of this kind are few and far between here, so I snagged it.)

After re-reading the post and thinking deep thoughts over a batch (or three) of white chocolate chunk cookies, I realized my main concern (other than the smelly factor) was that I have über-curly hair.  In the picture on her website, Simple Mom has straight, I-envy-you-because-you-can-just-get-out-of-the-shower-and-let-your-hair-air-dry-with-no-product-in-it hair.

Ugh.  Those people.  I am not one of them.  Mousse is a must.  If I don’t wash my hair, how the junk do I get the mousse out?

This is my hair.

So I googled (duh), and I found this website.  The author recommends “washing” curly hair with conditioner after a one-time cleanse with a sulfate-free shampoo.  That didn’t sound as gross to me as rinsing my hair with a little watery baking soda every 5 days.  So, I tried it.

I thought I’d give up after a few days of stinky, greasy hair.  Surprise, surprise – I’m still shampoo free!

In one month, I have only washed my hair a handful of times (after swimming in chlorine and only with a sulfate-free shampoo).  I also cut back on the amount of mousse I was using (hey, hey, thrifty!).

I know my color is fading, and I have psycho curls. Lay off - it takes guts to put pictures of your hair on the internet.

Surprisingly, my hair looks and feels a lot more natural.  It definitely does not feel the least bit greasy.  And, I know you really want to ask… no, it does not smell.

I am saving my shampoo money for Korea. Yeah, four euro. Way to go.

From what I read, you have to find what works for your hair and the adjustment period could take 2-4 weeks.  If you’ve tried this (and especially if you have curly hair), I’d love to know what works for you.  I can’t say I’ll never go back to shampoo.  But, for now, this is the new, thrifty-haired me.

We want to hear from you! Share your thoughts here.

