Berlin – The American Tour

I know, I know.  When you visit a new place, you’re supposed to experience the culture and try the food.  Yeah, well, sometimes I’m just not down with that.  In Berlin, we ditched the schnitzel and the wurst and went on an expat food extravaganza!

Sorry, I just can’t get into the hot dogs/sausages/mystery meat. Hilarious little get-up though, dude.

Here’s a rundown..

Dolores (Rosa-Luxemburg-Straße 7, 10178 and Bayreuther Straße 36, 10789)

Oh my, oh my, oh my, these burritos made my little boys cry!  All of us, actually – they were SO spicy!   Germans generally do not like spicy food.  All the Mexican food we have tried in Germany thus far has been incredibly bland.  Dolores shocked our taste buds in a fiery way.  The heat was a bit too much for the boys, but Doc Sci and I loved it.  The beef was much better than the chicken and the pinto beans were somewhat refried.. mmmmmmm!  The house-made tortilla chips were nothing special, although they were necessary to tone down the heat.  Dolores has two locations in Berlin – we hit them both up.  It’s not Chipotle – but we’ll take it!

Dolores West near KaDaWe.

Just. can’t. get. enough.

My mouth, my mouth, my mouth is on fire!

Burgers Berlin (Sonntagstr. 2, 10245 Berlin)

I searched Toytown for “best burger in Berlin.”  As in almost any forum, I found a few different opinions.  We visited Burgers Berlin because it was convenient for our plans.  Had we been in a different neighborhood, we might have tried Marien Burger or another place.  Burgers are pretty much all Burgers Berlin does (which is a good thing!), and everything is made to order.  Buns are toasted, ketchup is free and free-flowing (a rare thing here where it’s sold by the packet in restaurants), and the soda case is stocked with interesting choices.  The burger was decent and fairly priced.  The menu says the cheeseburger comes with cheddar; actually, it’s American (boo).  Unfortunately, the fries are average and German-style.  Ah well, we didn’t come for the fries anyway.  P.s. – there’s a great park across the street!

Burgers für alles!

Park across the street ..

.. with these DOUBLE swings!! (p.s. – I’m not a preppy yuppy; I sometimes match my kids so I can find them easier in a crowd. Don’t knock it ’til you try it!)

Ron Telesky’s Canadian Pizza (Dieffenbachstraße 62, 10967)

Quirky is the name of the game at this place.  A mounted moose head stares down guests while they order funky pizzas like “The Couch Potato” (would have loved to try this – potato, sweet potato, cheddar, feta – but I don’t like feta).  The bathroom is in an ice fishing-type hut, and there’s a canoe outside that kids can play in while parents eat.  FYI – the inside seating area is very small, so you’ll want to sit outside unless it’s winter.  We just wanted some relatively normal pizza and went with the Margherita.  Definitely not the best pizza I’ve ever had, but I was glad to be able to pile on as much arugala and balsamic as I liked (free of charge).  The best thing about Ron Telesky’s is that it stocks ROOT BEER, DR. PEPPER, and MTN. DEW!

Creative seating.

Guzzle!

Barcomi’s (Bergmannstraße 21, 10961)

Doc Sci is a peanut butter lover, so when I stumbled upon this place in the Toytown forums, I knew we had to go.  It’s in a charming neighborhood with lots of unique stores and shops selling things like vegan ice cream.  We tried the peanut butter and the peanut butter chocolate chip cookies.  They weren’t peanut buttery enough for our taste, but it was nice to eat something with PB that didn’t come from my kitchen.

Getränke Hoffmann (Kleiststr. 23, 10787)

Both Doc Sci and I love Dr. Pepper and haven’t had a drop since we’ve been in Germany (there are programs for this sort of problem, I know).  I made a list of potential places that might stock it, and by golly we found it here!  Like Coca Cola, it’s also made with sugar here, not high fructose corn syrup.  This store sells 1.5 liter bottles for 1,49 euro.  It’s slightly cheaper if you buy six bottles at one time.  Bonus: It’s just down the street from Dolores West.

If you’ve had any other foodie adventures in Berlin, I’d love to hear about them in the comments below.

Headed to Berlin?  Check out more posts on this awesome city here.

5 thoughts on “Berlin – The American Tour

  1. Pingback: Craving Convenience « Thrifty Travel Mama

  2. Pingback: Simple Pleasures: Peanut Butter « Thrifty Travel Mama

  3. Pingback: Make It Yourself: Texas Flour Tortillas « Thrifty Travel Mama

  4. Pingback: Berlin With Kids – Round 2 « Thrifty Travel Mama

  5. Pingback: Review: El Gallo Mexican Restaurant – Freiburg « Thrifty Travel Mama

We want to hear from you! Share your thoughts here.

