Simple Pleasures: Beer Steamed Shrimp

Have you ever found yourself at Bubba Gump Shrimp Company, devouring the Shrimper’s Net Catch almost entirely by yourself?

I have.

And, I might add, on more than one occasion.

I love shrimp.  But I really love these spicy, juicy, delicious shrimp.  And they just can’t be had anywhere in Germany.

For starters, we don’t have any seafood restaurants in our city.  And, even if one existed, it wouldn’t be dumb enough to serve anything spicy to the bland-loving Germans.

I’ve been coming across oodles of copykat recipes on Pinterest.  So, I thought I’d see if anyone had a recipe for the Bubba Gump shrimp that are so totally delicious.

Well, whaddya know.. someone in an HVAC (that’s heating, ventilation, and air conditioning) forum posted one.  Of all places!  I never would have guessed.

What’s more – these little yummies are seriously easy to prepare.

This recipe belongs to Key, who posted it in 2007.  First I’ll give you his recipe, and then my notes.

Beer Steamed Shrimp

2lbs deveined shrimp (uncooked & shells on)
4 tbl spoons “Old Bay”
3 tbl spoons Paprika
1/2 tea spoon cayenne
1/2 teaspoon garlic powder
3/4 cup Beer
1/4 cup Vinegar
1/2 Lemon (cut into wedges)

In a deep fry pan bring ingredients to a boil…add shrimp and cover for 8 minutes…thicken with cornstarch/water mixture, & serve.

I put the cayenne pepper in the picture, but I decided not to use it. I dunno, I just didn't feel like it.

I halved this recipe.  My shrimp were not easy to find, and not easy on the grocery budget.  At almost 10 euros per kilo, I wasn’t about to ruin the whole bag if it didn’t taste good.

If possible, I would highly recommend using fresh shrimp.  No one sells fresh shrimp here, so I had to settle for frozen.   You may end up with slightly rubbery results if using frozen shrimp.

In case you’re wondering, I brought the Old Bay seasoning from the US.  No such luck finding it here.

About to add my shrimp to the steamy pan!

I thought 8 minutes was WAY too long.  The next time, I’ll probably steam for 1-2 minutes, then remove from heat and let stand at the table until ready to serve, allowing the residual steam/heat to finish cooking the shrimp.

I did not thicken my sauce, but rather just dipped the peeled shrimp in it.  Good enough for me!

I totally forgot to take a picture of the finished shrimp. So here's the aftermath. And that's an empty baking sheet where an entire batch of onion rings used to be.

p.s. – I’ll let you in on a little secret.  This the first beer I have ever bought at a grocery store.  Ever.  And I have only bought one other beer in my life that I can recall, at the Hofbräuhaus in Munich in 2005.  I wasn’t sure what to do with the rest of the bottle, so I made beer bread.  YUM.

We want to hear from you! Share your thoughts here.

