Pregnant in Germany

I’m excited to announce some very special news!   Here at Thrifty Travel Mama, we’re expanding by one seat!  As someone pointed out, we’ll soon be able to fully book the middle, five-across section of a 747 jet.  Awesome.  I wonder if we could get a group discount?

I’ll be posting about once a month on the topic of having a baby in Germany.  The system is certainly different, though the care seems to be equally as good as the US (or so my uninitiated self thinks at this point!).

For those having (or thinking of having) a baby in Deutschland, I hope you find these posts informative.  For everyone else, hold on to your hats.  There’s bound to be a barrel of laughs involved.

As is the case in the US, a mama’s got to visit an obstetrician throughout her pregnancy.  Well, generally.  You could go to a midwife instead.  But, I’ll write more about that later.  For now, let’s talk ob/gyn.

Ladies, listen up.  If you’re going to the ob/gyn in Germany, there are two very important things you should know.

  • NO nurses
  • NO gowns or drapes

First, no nurses means you’ll be alone in the examination room with your doctor.  Choose wisely.  Most of the interaction you’ll have with this person will be sans pants.

Second, no gowns or drapes means you should wear a dress with leggings or a long shirt.  Again with the interaction sans pants.

And, the doctor does not leave the room.  If you’re lucky, you’ll have a small screen to hide behind to wiggle in and out of your skivvies.  But what does it matter anyway?  You’ll still have to skedaddle across the room to the table, you guessed it, sans pants.

I am NOT a fan of this system.

Just sayin’..

If you happen to be visiting the ob/gyn because you’re pregnant, expect to have an ultrasound (of the uncomfortable variety) to confirm you are, indeed, knocked up.

And, if you don’t have anything in German stating your blood type (and whether or not you’re Rh negative), you will have to have blood drawn.

The ob/gyn is the only doctor’s office in Germany where I’ve had a nurse draw my blood.  All other doctors I have visited have done it themselves.

And, that ultrasound I mentioned?  It will also be performed by the doctor, not a tech.

Speaking of ultrasounds, Germans consider them quite safe.  I’m just beginning my second trimester, and I’ve already had three.  In the US, my insurance only covered one per pregnancy.

Since I’m no longer a newb at being pregnant, I discussed with my doctor right off the bat that I’d be refusing most tests (glucose, quad-screen, etc).  I gave my reasons, and she heard me out.  If you’re like me, find out what you’re doctor thinks of your opinions.  Luckily, my doctor said to me, “I don’t have a problem with problem patients.”

Thanks, Doc.  I think we’ll get along just fine.

12 thoughts on “Pregnant in Germany

  1. Pingback: Tips on Booking Multi-City Itineraries « Thrifty Travel Mama

  2. Pingback: Make It Yourself: Sports Drink « Thrifty Travel Mama

  3. Pingback: Date Night! « Thrifty Travel Mama

  4. Pingback: Pregnant in Germany: Doctors and Midwives « Thrifty Travel Mama

  5. Pingback: Shameless Repost: With Six Kids and No Car, This Mom Does It All By Bike « Thrifty Travel Mama

  6. Pingback: Make Ahead Meals for Small Freezers « Thrifty Travel Mama

  7. Pingback: It’s Time « Thrifty Travel Mama

  8. Pingback: Big Foot’s Birth Certificates « Thrifty Travel Mama

  9. Pingback: Make It Yourself: Homemade Salad Dressing, 3 Ways | Thrifty Travel Mama

We want to hear from you! Share your thoughts here.

