Pregnant in Germany: The Mutterpass

My Mutterpass.

Having a baby in Germany is such a trip you need a Mutterpass for the ride!

But, what exactly IS a Mutterpass?  It’s kind of a passport to motherhood, a document you are *supposed to* carry with you during your entire pregnancy.

Inside, you’ll find all kinds of details regarding your pregnancy: height, weight, age, blood type, family history, lab results, blood pressure, diseases, cravings, credit history, thoughts on the meaning of life, etc.  In essence, you’re in charge of keeping your own maternity medical records… and on you at all times, no less.

I’m finding that Germans aren’t so tight-fisted with medical records as we are in the US.  If I wanted a copy of the information in my chart at an American ob/gyn, I’d have to fill out a form, pay $236 per page for someone to stand at the copier and press the big green button, and then make an appointment to pick the sheets of gold up at a later date.  Patients just can’t be trusted with such things in the states.

But here, not only do I carry around my pregnancy medical records, I also keep both of my boys’ medical records and immunization records (Impfpass!) at home in a file cabinet.  Of course, this also means I am responsible to bring these records to every checkup.   And, therein lies the rub.

For some reason, I don’t think this system would work in the US.  I mean, it’s not like you can keep your Mutterpass on your iPhone.  It’s PAPER and you actually have to REMEMBER to bring it.

So, do I personally take this laminated booklet with me everywhere?  No yet.  From what I hear though, it’s wise to keep it at your side during the third trimester and always when traveling.  I guess my packing list just got a little bit longer.

Now, if I could only read what’s in it…

6 thoughts on “Pregnant in Germany: The Mutterpass

  1. Pingback: Packing Tips For a One Day Trip « Thrifty Travel Mama

  2. Actually, my OBGYN has something very similar, a little booklet you are supposed to keep on you in case of emergencies, that way they know how your pregnancy has been progressing. Though with the number of women who forget to bring them to their appointments, I would guess they don’t actually carry them around!😛

  3. Pingback: German Well Baby Visits « Thrifty Travel Mama

  4. I am planning to move from the US to Germany soonish. Some. German acquaintances in the US told me that I could find online the mutter pass and have it filled up here so by the time we get in DE we will be eligible for a higher help per kid from the gov. any tips
    . Info? On this? Thanks

    • Hi there,
      I have not heard either way whether or not it is possible to get a Mutterpass online or not. But, even if you could, it would be in German and my guess is that your ob/gyn would not be comfortable filling it out for you unless he/she spoke German. As for help from the government, do you mean in terms of insurance covering the birth? That shouldn’t matter as to when you move or if you have a mutterpass or not. And if you mean Kindergeld, that depends on the income/job and has nothing to do with prenatal care, health conditions, etc. Sorry, I’m not sure if that was helpful or not, but I hope it points you somewhat in the right direction.

  5. Pingback: Having a Baby. Au Natural. In Germany. - The Song Map

We want to hear from you! Share your thoughts here.

