Simple Pleasures: Peanut Butter

Have I told you before I’m married to a man obsessed with peanut butter?  I guess I did kinda mention it here, here, and here.   That’s all fine and dandy I suppose.  Everyone has their vices, right?

The problem, you see, lies in the fact that he’s raising two boys with healthy appetites to love peanut butter as well.

Unfortunately, Germany does not love peanut butter…  not. at. all.

As ridiculous as it sounds, we have friends and family ship or bring us peanut butter from the US.  The German peanut butter is either the hydrogenated oil and sugar laced kind or it’s pure peanut puree.  No salt.  No flavor.

Our current delicious peanut butter supply is dangerously low, and I was about to start panicking.  That is, until I came across a post by Texanerin Baking (who also happens to be an American living in Germany) describing how to make homemade peanut butter.

Whoa.

This could revolutionize my transatlantic luggage situation.  This could save my friends and family some serious cash on shipping charges.  This could make my husband – and my boys – verrrrrrrrrrry happy.

The best part?  It’s ridiculously easy.

A 200 gram can of peanuts, my food processor, and sunflower oil.

You need peanuts and a food processor.  I also added a smidge of sunflower oil.  If your peanuts are not salted, I’d highly recommend adding salt one pinch at a time to taste.  Mine were roasted, salted, and also had a bit of oil on them.

Screech helped me out with this project.  I’d say it’s two year-old approved as long as child and food processor blade do not ever meet.

Making homemade peanut butter really is as simple as peanuts and a food processor.  But, here are a few things I learned.

Peanut crumblies.

First, you’re going to need to scrape the sides of the food processor several times.  Second, keep going.  You may think this experiment is NOT going to work, but it will.  Third, continue blasting the peanuts to smithereens until you reach the consistency of natural peanut butter.  It should be smooth and creamy, not peanut paste.

Almost there!

Then, taste test.  My littlest helper (Screech) would’ve eaten the entire batch if I let him.  I stuck to one spoonful.  I only let Doc Sci have a small sample since it was dinner time.  I’ve kept the secret from T-Rex thus far.

Peanut butter perfection.

But, I’ll let you in…. it’s delicious!

p.s. – Store your homemade peanut butter in the fridge.

4 thoughts on “Simple Pleasures: Peanut Butter

  1. Pingback: Simple Pleasures: Peanut Butter Cups « Thrifty Travel Mama

  2. Pingback: Simple Pleasures: Cinnamon Vanilla Almond Butter | Thrifty Travel Mama

  3. Pingback: Make It Yourself: Homemade Wheat Thins | Thrifty Travel Mama

  4. Pingback: Make It Yourself: Bagels! | Thrifty Travel Mama

We want to hear from you! Share your thoughts here.

