Home Improvement: Huge Cork Board Wall

For some reason, I feel like the living room improvements will never be done.  I add things here and there, but it never seems complete.  I always wish I had more on my walls, more decorations above the TV, more color to contrast the black & white.

In reality, I’m not as discontented as I sound, well, not on a daily basis anyway.  Our living room is worlds better than when we first moved in, and I know it will evolve little by little until the day we move out.

But suffice it to say, I’m not in the mood to show you all of the living room.  Yet.

I would, however, like to show you a very fun Pinterest project that helps with my white wall despair: a gigantic, humongous, gargantuan cork board wall!

The wall’s design is the brainchild of Amber Interiors.  If you want to put one of these up the “right” way, head here for instructions and pictures.

Since I cannot drill into the wall, I did not do this cork board up all proper.  Instead, I used a mixture of sticky adhesive tape and glue.  Though cork board itself is extremely light, a piece of this size is rather heavy to hang without screws or nails.

I covered mine with family photos and small mementos of places we’ve visited (ticket stubs, postcards, stickers, coasters, business cards, etc.).

The boys LOVE this wall.  Not only do they get excited seeing photographs of themselves, but they also enjoy pointing out mama and daddy.  It serves as a great link to our friends and family back home, as it allows us to put faces they rarely see with names they often hear.

As for the cost, I bought an insanely huge roll of cork for 20 euros.  Since it was only 2mm thick, I also bought a roll of paper-backed Styrofoam to support the thin cork.  Amber Interiors uses panels, but my German hardware store only sold it by the roll or in typical bulletin board rectangles.  Since it was cheaper to buy the roll, I went with that.

Even after covering almost the entire living room wall, I had plenty of cork left over.  I’ve put up cork boards in the hallway and the kitchen, and I still probably have enough to cover another wall somewhere in the flat.

My favorite part about this cork board wall is that it can be anything I want it to be.  If I find a better way to display family photos, I can put something else up in their place.  I could change my decor weekly if I had that kind of energy.  Options are one of creativity’s best friends.

What about you?  Do you have a place in your home that could be home to a cork board wall?  If you’ve already got yourself one of these beauties, leave a link to your project.

2 thoughts on “Home Improvement: Huge Cork Board Wall

  1. Pingback: Thrifty Travel Mama – 2012 – A Year in Review « Thrifty Travel Mama

  2. Pingback: DIY: Map Flower Wall Art | Thrifty Travel Mama

We want to hear from you! Share your thoughts here.

