Shameless Repost: Are German Parents as Superior as French Parents?

I don’t often think about if German parents are different than American parents.  That’s a no-brainer.  I just know they are.

But one thing I haven’t given much thought to is the question of how German parents differ from their American counterparts.

Several weeks ago, I ran across an article listed in Simple Mom’s Weekend Links that happened to be from the Wall Street Journal, entitled “Why French Parents Are Superior.”

I loved it.

Since then, I’ve been consciously thinking about two things I took away from the article: delayed gratification and teaching my children to entertain themselves by playing alone while I am busy.

As I read the article, though, I wondered how similar French and German parents are.  The last time I spent more than one day in France, I was pregnant with my first child and not at all into hanging out at playgrounds or observing child rearing techniques.

And, even though I have lived in Germany for a year and a half, I am still no expert on German parents.  So, I was quite pleased to run across a comparison on the German Way Expat Blog of French and German parents based on the aforementioned Wall Street Journal article.

Head here to read the full comparison.   (Or you can cheat and read the final count here: Similarities – 3 and Dissimilarities – 2.)

We want to hear from you! Share your thoughts here.

