Make It Yourself: Texas Flour Tortillas

I didn’t intend to write two food posts in one week.  But, I have been eating a lot around here.  Let’s just blame it on the little alien doing triple flips just above my hips, shall we?

If you’ve spent any time on Thrifty Travel Mama, you know I LOVE Mexican food.  We have tacos, burritos, enchiladas, fajitas, or beans and rice at least once a week in our house if not more.

I have yet to find anywhere in Germany other than Dolores Burritos in Berlin that serves decent Mexican.  So, I make ingredients from scratch or have nice people from the US send them to me and we stuff our faces at home.

Previously, I’d been settling for the seriously sub-par tortillas available in German grocery stores until I came across this post on Homesick Texan describing the end to her quest for homemade flour tortillas with an authentic Texas taste.  Having lived in Texas twice, I knew exactly what high hopes I’d have for these pups.  And, since I had all of the ingredients readily available, Ihad to give the recipe a try.

Wow.

These really do put any store-bought tortillas outside of Texas to shame.  And they are easy!

Here’s how I made my tortillas.  For the recipe, click here.

Start with some very basic ingredients: milk, flour, salt, baking powder, and oil. Homesick Texan mentions you can make these whole wheat by substituting half of the white flour with wheat flour. I decided to do this since I’d already gorged myself on carrot cake pancakes and lemon blueberry breakfast cake earlier that day.  I wasn’t kidding about eating a lot lately.  Clearly.

Mix the dry ingredients and drizzle the oil in before slowly adding the warm milk.

Stir everything together, and tell your doubts to go away. This weird sticky dough WILL turn into flour tortillas.

Knead the dough on a floured surface. You might still have doubts. That’s okay. You’ll believe soon enough.

After letting the dough rest (covered) for 20 minutes, separate into 8 or 10 balls depending on what size tortillas you desire. I wanted a fajita size, so I made 10.  Let rest (covered) another 10 minutes.  Remind yourself these yummies are worth the wait.

Roll out the balls of dough one at a time until super thin. I have a handy dandy silicon mat with circle dimensions on it for occasions such as this.

If you’re lucky enough to have a cast iron skillet, heat that bad boy up. If you are stuck with a nonstick pan like me, heat it to medium. If you put it on high as the recipe states, the residual flour will smoke and burn. Not that I know that from personal experience or anything..

Cook for 20-30 seconds on each side. The dough will bubble and puff and get brown spots. Keep cooked tortillas covered with a dish cloth until ready to serve.

Top with whatever strikes your fancy or eat these delightful babies plain. Thanks to this recipe, I now have yet another household staple I absolutely must make from scratch.  Guten appetit!

One thought on “Make It Yourself: Texas Flour Tortillas

  1. Pingback: Make It Yourself: Coconut Vanilla Brown Sugar Body Scrub | Thrifty Travel Mama

We want to hear from you! Share your thoughts here.

