Getting My German Driver’s License: Part 2

Thrifty Travel Mama | Expat Life - Drivers LicenseAs promised, here’s the final update on my German driver’s license saga!

After passing the written exam, I was given a paper with an official TüV stamp (which makes sense since you take the course at.. duh, TüV).

The man at the TüV office told me no less than 583 times that this paper was NOT an official driver’s license.  Thanks, buddy, got it.

The next day, I took this paper and my original Florida driver’s license to the city driver’s license office.  I expected to have to wait a while, be told to go here and there, and (of course) pay more money.

I was wrong.

After the woman found my paperwork, I only had to sign a document stating that I picked up the license and surrender my “old” one.  Since I knew I would have to give Germany my American driver’s license, I had previously ordered an extra copy so that I’d be legal to drive in both countries.

German driver’s licenses are issued for life, so they don’t have any embarrassing statistics on them like height, weight, eye color, and shoe size.

She then wrote in the date of issuance (by hand!), gave me my license, and returned the passport photo I submitted with my application.

I am now in possession of a Class B German driver’s license!

But, that’s not all… My US driver’s license allows me to drive several other classes of vehicles, most notably motorcycles under 50cc’s  (hello, Vespa!) and TRACTORS.  Good to know that if I ever find myself in the curious predicament of operating a John Deere, at least I’ll be legal!

Handwritten validity date, and all the classes of vehicles I’m currently allowed to drive.

In case you’re keeping track, here’s what it cost me (in euros) to get my German driver’s license:

  • 55 – Official ADAC translation of US driver’s license.
  • 6,43 – Eye test.
  • 35 – Driver’s license application (including the cost of the new physical license itself).
  • 29,90 – Study guide for written exam (Vollversion von myFührerschein) which I shared with Doc Sci.
  • 20,83 – Written exam.
  • 147,16 – Total (or 132,21 if you figure that I split the cost of the study guide).

Now that this is over, we’re faced with another dilemma… to buy a car or not to buy a car…?  Ah, another thought for another day.

To read about the test, click here. And, by the way, we did buy a car. You can read about that adventure here.

One thought on “Getting My German Driver’s License: Part 2

  1. Pingback: Getting My German Driver’s License: Part 1 | Thrifty Travel Mama

We want to hear from you! Share your thoughts here.

