The Year of the Chocolate Pecan Pie

Happy week-after-Thanksgiving-and-Black-Friday-and-Small-Business-Saturday-and-Cyber-Monday!  I trust you all had an enjoyable holiday – or holiday(s) depending on how much you value the former events.

This year, I went to the kitchen kicking and screaming, dragging my heels and procrastinating until the very last second.  I just absolutely positively did not want to cook Thanksgiving dinner this year.

I blamed it on the little detail, er should I say baby, that constantly needs my attention all day every day.  But really, I just couldn’t muster the energy to cook for a whole week just to present a feast that I would have to eat three bites here, two bites there while trying to maintain a conversation despite the 20 screaming children that inevitably descend upon – and ultimately trash – my 827 square-foot apartment.

So, after much hemming and hawing, I decided this year I would only cook for adults.  And, I would only cook things I actually liked to eat.  Shocking, I know.  That meant goodbye green bean casserole and cranberry sauce.  Hello pumpkin and pecan pies.

I love pecans.  But most pecan pie scares me.  It has this weird eggy-syrupy base that totally overwhelms the pecans.  I made it two years ago for our first Thanksgiving in Germany, and while it wasn’t syrupy (we can’t get corn syrup here), it was still too eggy for me.  But I had a hankering for it, and I wanted to try making it again.

Then, I came across this CHOCOLATE pecan pie recipe in Real Simple.  Chocolate + pecans = calorie busting scrumptious deliciousness.

But I still needed to modify the recipe, tossing the corn syrup and reducing the instant sugar headache that most pecan pies dish out.  Good old Google led me to this recipe.  I also happened to consult one other recipe and finally boiled all three down to one that I thought would turn out well.

And boy did it turn out.  Whoa, Nelly.  You need to make this.  It’s not too Thanksgiving-y.  It’s totally appropriate for December.  Or March.  Or June.  Or any time really.  It’s amazing.

Chocolate Pecan Pie

2 eggs
1 egg white
1/2 cup soft brown sugar
1/4 cup maple syrup
2 Tbl melted butter
2 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 tsp salt
2 cups pecans (whole or coarsely chopped, however you prefer)
2/3 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
1 unbaked pie crust

Stir the eggs, egg white, brown sugar, maple syrup, butter, vanilla, salt, pecans, and chocolate chips together until combined.  Pour into the unbaked pie crust.   Bake at 375F for 30-35 minutes or until the center rises.  Serve warm with vanilla ice cream.  Enjoy!

2 thoughts on “The Year of the Chocolate Pecan Pie

  1. Pingback: Make It Yourself: Family Activity Advent Calendar | Thrifty Travel Mama

  2. Pingback: The Token What-I’m-Thankful-For Post… 2013 Edition | Thrifty Travel Mama

We want to hear from you! Share your thoughts here.

