Visiting Strasbourg, France with Kids

Thrifty Travel Mama - Strasbourg with KidsI waited three days for the rain to stop.  And then, I decided to make a run for it.  A run for the border, that is.   Well, okay I didn’t actually run – I’ve already learned my lesson on that one.  No, this run to the border had a lesson of a different kind.

When traveling with kids, timing is everything.

This was supposed to be one of those hey-look-isn’t-France-so-stinkin’-amazing-and-check-it-out-my-kids-think-so-too posts.  But, that was before I realized T-Rex had bruised his heel while swimming the day before.  The boy who could hike the tallest mountain in South Korea was not even interested in walking a hundred meters.

Big Foot developed an awful cough and was majorly grumpy.  Turns out the poor thing had a touch of bronchitis.  Nice one, mama.

And, Screech, well, he’s just a major sass these days since he’s going through the “impossible 3’s.”  Don’t let anyone tell you the twos are terrible.  They’re a cake walk compared with the threes.

So there we were, a band of aches, pains, and trantrums, stomping our way around Strasbourg.  Below is a peek at our adventure.

The first thing I do when researching a new destination is to search for existing kid-friendly city guides.

The first thing I do when researching a new destination is to search for existing kid-friendly city guides.  I mainly look for playgrounds, natural attractions, inexpensive places to eat, and shops hawking wares that my boys would like.

I found a few good tips here, including the suggestion to visit the largest and oldest park in Strasbourg, L'Orangerie.

I found a few good tips here, including the suggestion to visit the largest and oldest park in Strasbourg, L’Orangerie.

Not only does L'Orangerie have an expansive playground, but it also has a small zoo.

Not only does L’Orangerie have an expansive playground, but it also has a small zoo (free).

My boys enjoyed seeing all sorts of creatures like ostriches, goats, mountain lions, flamingos, tortoises..

My boys enjoyed seeing all sorts of creatures like this owl, as well as ostriches, goats, mountain lions, flamingos, tortoises..

Bonus - the park has restrooms at the west entrance (Allee de la Robertsau)..

Bonus – the park has restrooms at the west entrance (Allee de la Robertsau)..

And they're free!!

and they’re also free!!

As we left the park, I noticed that it is located very close to the Council of Europe.  Strasbourg also houses the EU Parliament.

As we left the park, I noticed that it is located very close to the Council of Europe. Strasbourg also houses the EU Parliament.  Unfortunately, my kids aren’t quite into government yet, so a visit to these institutions will have to wait.

We hopped a bus to take us to the city center, and passed this beautiful cathedral on the way.

We hopped a bus to take us to the city center, and passed the beautiful St. Paul’s Cathedral on the way.

After stepping off the bus, we discovered this funky fountain (Fontaine de Janus).  It would've been a nice place to tear into a baguette, but I was just plain ol' too cold.

After stepping off the bus, we discovered this funky fountain (Fontaine de Janus). It would’ve been a nice place to tear into a baguette, but I was just plain ol’ too cold.

I should mention that Strasbourg has one of the best Christmas markets in all of France which just happens to be open after Christmas as well.

I should mention that Strasbourg has one of the best Christmas markets in all of France and it just happens to be open after Christmas as well.

But I have to be honest.  I was not in search of winter trinkets.  No siree, I wanted a burrito.  Doc Sci was ready to order tacos for a month.  To go.  But La Cocina's owners decided to take a siesta... for two weeks.

But I have to be honest. I was not in search of winter trinkets. No siree, I wanted a burrito. Doc Sci was ready to order tacos for a month. To go. But La Cocina‘s owners decided to take a siesta… for two weeks.

Instead, we ate our sandwiches in the Petite France section of Strasbourg which is positively charming.

Instead, we ate our sandwiches in the Petite France section of Strasbourg which is positively charming.

We discovered two playgrounds right on the canals (off of Rue des Moulins).

We discovered two playgrounds right on the canals (near Rue des Moulins).

We were totally bummed about the burritos, and that made us totally not in the mood to even have a bite of Alsatian cuisine at one of these funky little weinstubs.

We were totally bummed about the burritos, which killed our appetite for even the smallest bite of Alsatian cuisine.  Should you be keen on downing a flammkuchen, do so at one of these funky little weinstubs.

Strasbourg seemed to be filled with two kinds of shops: those selling sweets..

Strasbourg seemed to be brimming with two kinds of shops: those offering sweets..

and those selling ridiculously cute but outrageously overpriced children's clothes.

and those selling ridiculously cute but outrageously overpriced children’s clothes.

I'm sure you guessed that we went for the sweets.  A great stop to make with the kiddos is La Cure Gourmande.

I’m sure you guessed that we went for the sweets. A great stop to make with the kiddos is La Cure Gourmande.

They get you in the door with the free cookie samples and keep you there with the mouth watering caramels.

They get you in the door with the free cookie samples and keep you there with the mouth-watering caramels.

Right outside La Cure Gourmande is the Cathédrale Notre-Dame de Strasbourg.  It's magnificent.  And huge.  I wanted to climb the tower, but all the injuries/attitudes/coughing shut that idea down right away.

Right outside La Cure Gourmande is the Cathédrale Notre-Dame de Strasbourg. It’s magnificent. And huge. I wanted to climb the tower, but all the injuries/attitudes/coughing shut that idea down right away.

So despite my plans for spending the day lollygagging around France, we decided to fold and go home.  All three boys dozed in the car while Doc Sci and I took in this amazing sky.  Strasbourg, I'll be back.

So despite my plans for spending the day lollygagging around Strasbourg, France, we decided to fold and go home. All three boys dozed in the car while Doc Sci and I took in this amazing sky. Strasbourg, I’ll be back.

Visiting the Alsace region of France?  Don’t miss Colmar or a trip to the three castles near Ribeauville.Signature-Marigold

9 thoughts on “Visiting Strasbourg, France with Kids

  1. I got to spend three days in Strasburg with my mom and aunt and it was one of my favorite places in all of France. I love the German French English translation in every single place in the main plaza. I think it’s great you guys are trying to travel around so much while you’re there!

  2. Pingback: Review: El Gallo Mexican Restaurant – Freiburg « Thrifty Travel Mama

  3. Pingback: Our First French Road Trip – Château de Saint-Ulrich | Thrifty Travel Mama

  4. Pingback: Trip Report : Colmar | Thrifty Travel Mama

  5. Pingback: How We Found Ourselves in Love with Touristy Rothenburg ob der Tauber | Thrifty Travel Mama

  6. Pingback: train museum | Thrifty Travel Mama

We want to hear from you! Share your thoughts here.

