Our Turkish Family Adventure: A Fall Fling in Istanbul

Thrifty Travel Mama | Family Adventures in Istanbul - Tips on Taking Your Kids to Turkey

Are y’all ready to check out the sultan’s sweet digs, savory street food, and a super cheap sea cruise? My family-friendly Istanbul recap is finally here!

An effort nearly a year in the making, sharing our family’s Turkish adventure with you is obviously long overdue. In between spelling tests and science experiments, I’ve been editing photos and typing up posts in my rare spare minutes over the past few months.

We enjoyed such a marvelous last major travel fling in the Middle East before moving to America, a trek complete with marvels and mishaps, that I couldn’t keep it all to myself.

After a trip like this, the first thing I want to do is capture the essence of the adventure in words and pictures (which, unfortunately takes for-stinkin’-ever these days). Following that, I wish to share what we experienced and learned with you and all my fellow traveling families.

I personally rely on these kinds of recap and bucket list posts from other travelers and especially family travel bloggers. So, without further ado, here are the treats awaiting you in the next few weeks. Links will be added to the list below as posts are published.

Istanbul Bucket List

All that, and….

As always, I’ll discuss my thoughts on whether I found Istanbul to be kid-friendly or not. I’ll be handing over my best tips for taking your family to Turkey including valuable advice on what to know and prepare before you even leave home.

I also have a harrowing hotel tale to share in hopes that you’ll avoid any potential arguments with your own accommodation arrangements. Plus, I’ve got a review of our experience flying Turkish Airlines with kids in the works.

It’s both thrilling and slightly depressing to be reliving our Turkish adventure here in words and pictures. Thrilling because, hello, we went to Turkey with our kids and had a blast. Depressing because of the whole being regular Americans now with real jobs and commitments who can’t travel whenever they feel like it (whine, whine). But, whatever.

Down with the reverse culture shock dumps, I say! Every day, this new life gets a bit more bearable. Meeting fellow expats helps. Making new expat friends helps. Using my passport again REALLY helps. And, writing here helps. It reminds me that we traveled before, and we can travel again. It may not look the same as it used to, but travel is different for every adventure-seeking family.

So, let’s do this Turkey trip recap thing together. I’ll write the posts. You plan, scheme, and dream up your own version. (And, failing that – just pin it all for later.)

See you back here in a few days when we explore the 8th wonder of the world! In the meantime, if you have a hankering to browse other bucket lists, you can find our Tuscan one here and our Croatian one here.

Which part of the bucket list are you most looking forward to? If you’ve been to Turkey and have a story or link to share from somewhere not on our bucket list, would you share it in the comments below? Signature Thrifty Travel Mama

 

18 thoughts on “Our Turkish Family Adventure: A Fall Fling in Istanbul

      • We chose to go in September because we like travelling off season. I think it was a good time to go as it is a bit less busy with less cruise ships and tour groups. We also went to Cappadocia and it was very quiet in September as tour groups usually come in the Spring. All of this to say that I think September is a fine time to go to Turkey.

  1. Pingback: Turkish Travels: Hagia Sophia, the 8th Wonder of the World | Thrifty Travel Mama

  2. I just have to say that I love the way your posts are always so organized and pretty much give me a complete itinerary for the places you write about. You do all the work for me! Thanks, Chamisa!

    • Aw, thanks Jenny! And, you’re welcome. I really do use these kinds of posts for my own travel planning, and I love it when I don’t have to hunt around multiple sites and collect ideas. My hope is that others can use this as an easy reference for what to do (and not!!) while changing things that can make the trip truly their own.

  3. Pingback: Turkish Family Travels: A Budget-Friendly Bosphorus Cruise | Thrifty Travel Mama

  4. Pingback: Turkish Family Travels: Exploring Istanbul from Underground | Thrifty Travel Mama

  5. Pingback: Turkish Family Travel: Two Magnificent Mosques | Thrifty Travel Mama

  6. Pingback: Cheap Family Eats: The Istanbul Edition | Thrifty Travel Mama

  7. Pingback: Turkish Family Travels: Haggling Through the Grand Bazaar (Without Being Ripped Off..) | Thrifty Travel Mama

  8. Pingback: Turkish Family Travels: Bucket List FAIL and the Mishap That (Almost) Ruined Our Trip | Thrifty Travel Mama

  9. Pingback: Ten Tips to Make Your Family’s Istanbul Adventure a Smashing Success | Thrifty Travel Mama

We want to hear from you! Share your thoughts here.

